Posted in Live from London

October orange

effects process of nasturtiums in october orange
seqeuntial processes of Smart Photo Editor (SPE) effects
When Lori invited me to participate in Mandarin Orange Monday meme, my first thought was nasturtiums. These easy-on-the eye, easy-grow annuals have often been a motif for art, whether impressionist or nouveau…
…but I love the lily-pad peltate foliage as much as the tangerine textured blooms so with a ‘Fiery’ SPE effect, the orange hue switches from flower to leaf. Saturating the colours further brings out the emerald of the flowers (3) whilst the ‘artistic media 006’ effect adds depth with texture and lighter strokes.
And so for the first time this October 1st,  I’m joining Lori and other gorgeous arty orange growers in the MOM meme
nasturtiums in October orange

“My ornaments are fruits; my garments leaves,
Woven like cloth of gold, and crimson dyed;
I do not boast the harvesting of sheaves,
O’er orchards and o’er vineyards I preside.
Though on the frigid Scorpion I ride,
The dreamy air is full, and overflows
With tender memories of the summer-tide,
And mingled voices of the doves and crows” 1

Notes:
1. Henry Wadsworth Longfellow The Poet’s Calendar: 10 – October

Related Links:
See my gardening blog on nasturtiums ‘Of nose tweakers and marmalade

Author:

one blog for playing with photography @ eljaygee and the other with a weakness for words @ Tell Tale Therapy

13 thoughts on “October orange

  1. Laura, what a beautiful post! And all for MoM:) …and of course you:) This is a beautiful series and you are right, nasturtiums are the perfect choice. I have a friend who always brings flowers (usually from a neighbour’s garden) and leaves them on my verandah if I am not at home. Often they are nasturtiums. I love to put them in my kitchen- my orange kiitchen. I have photographed them too. I was interested to see what you did with SPE -and how you developed it. I must look at it too. Not only do I love the colour of your work but the beautiful line (both positive and negative) work. And do you know, your work reminds me of a Toulouse Lautrec work! Thanks so much for being part of MoM…the “orange growers” – i love that:)

Now have your say...

