Posted in smart photoart

Photoart Friday: Easter Graffiti

Graffiti is the theme for of this week’s photoart and as it coincides with Easter I’ve combined the two. Actually there was not much editing to do on this since I had a ready-made image in this spray-painted graffiti egg. It was part of the London Egg Hunt 2012 and suitably melded into the Southbank skatepark environs.collage of picasa effects easter graffitiThe original is a high-contrast mono image but I wanted to convert it to grittier, acid hues. As not everyone has access to the more sophisticated and costly photo editors, I used the free software, Picasa 3.9, to show what can be done by consecutively sequencing these various effects:

  1. Pencil sketch (as if drawn with a pencil – full strength; 50% fade)
  2. Cross process (mimics film cross processing)
  3. Ortonish (mimics Michael Orton effects)
  4. Boost (brings out colour and contrast – 25% )

graffiti easter

To complete the effect I downloaded the ‘Leap of faith’ font which gave me inspiration for an Easter graffiti message and now it’s ready to hang in the photoart friday gallery.

The exact same process was used here except instead of the sun glinting off the metallic egg, I’ve converted it to suit the current cold weather with a snow effect from Smart Photo Editor. Happy Easter!
grandaughter with graffiti easter 'snow' eggAddendum: My grandaughter and I went hunting for The London Easter Egg sculptures together but this year we ‘ve real food on our minds with our combined Easter@meandmygrandma

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

31 thoughts on “Photoart Friday: Easter Graffiti

  1. this is simply deLIGHTfull and unique!! I love the simple instructions, YOUR simple instructions as I often feel my “digital fiddling” in Picasa and Pixlr could BE expanded. I DO especially love your variations.

      1. thanks, Laura! I was just trying to respond to your comment on my post but for whatever reason I canNOT find an email for you so… Fun to come back here and read your response to me!! xoxo

  2. These are great, Laura. Love the face add in the last one. I had to scroll back up to see if I’d missed it the first time! The font is great – the one I used is called “snowwrite” Blessings on your Easter!

  3. Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Comments are closed.