Posted in Introspectives

introspectives #1

Resisting the pursuit of the picturesque as well as the snap happy finger, I pause to ask myself: ‘why am I taking this shot?’ winter_gt_ormond_stSomething about the washed out light, muted colours and the red car struck me. The longitudinal street scene is a favourite perspective and the bare Rowan trees guide the eye line in a bi-focal way. Momentarily it is possible to overlook the association of Great Ormond street with sick children and anxious relatives, who come here for whatever the outcome.holborn_circus I find reflections irresistible, and the circular glass frontage at Holborn circus gives depth, as well as a fish eye lens view that penetrates into the square mile. The roadwork barriers are a mess of colour but draw attention to the spatial activity of pedestrians, dwarfed by their surrounds. I like the plain sky although perhaps it would be better darker or noisier. On a white background, it makes the image appear like a cut-out, hence the display border.hatton_wall_old_effectAnother street portrait – Hatton Wall, overlaid with nostalgia. It’s a Sunday but the closed shutters signify the jewellery quarter ‘s evident decline. Once upon a Sabbath, it would have been bustling and hustling since the majority of people working here were Jewish, including my husband when he was a very young man. At the junction of Leather lane, stall frames are stored in readiness for next market day. A good tryout for the ‘Old Days’ image effect on my Panasonic G6.

Intropsective:  Since we mostly pop the question: Why am I taking this picture?  before we snap, I’m interested in the whys and wherefores of what others have captured – feel free to share your link in the comments

Useful Links:
The one question you should ask yourself…

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

8 thoughts on “introspectives #1

  1. I like your introspective question and have to admit I hardly ever ask myself why I’m taking a certain pictures. Other people often wonder what I could possibly be seeing when I take out my camera and they can’t see anything picture-worthy at all. Sadly, even once I’ve taken such a picture, I can’t say what compelled me to do so. It’s just a feeling of “this might be worth a picture”. In the end, I’m still as surprised by the outcome – and that it was in fact really worth being taken – as my friends are.
    You’ve stirred my interest now, though, so I’ll try to be aware of the why in future and see what happens.

    1. only more recently posed the question as used to take lots of pics of lots of things. Now I try & imagine I’m paying for film development even though its digital. Introspecting should help me figure out what kind of photographer I am. thanks for your input Kiki – like you I maybe attracted to the intangible or I like the story it tells

  2. Perhaps in my new life I’ll also look to serious photography instead of snapping away at my garden. I find this a very satisfying post. And of course there is the romance a foreigner feels for London when seen through the eyes of someone who is so familiar with it. Thanks, Laura!

  3. First I love your street scenes especially the first with the lines and muted colors and I really adore how you capture the reflections you do…that takes a very creative eye.

    As to your question, I usually look out on my gardens and see something that catches my eye…I want to try and capture what I am seeing through the lens. Other times, I want to see something up close and view it from a perspective I had not been able to see with my own eyes…and still other times I want to capture a particular perspective and look at it more creatively…

Now have your say...

