Posted in smart photoart

Smart Photoart: Homeward

Even though they are still a favourite way to travel, railways draw my thoughts back to the past and the perspective of a peripatetic childhood, with the locus of home at the vanishing point of the parallel lines.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


This week’s photoart is not the most photogenic shot but I like the railway paraphernalia in this angle of approach to Blackfriars station. I’ve given it an oil paint texture, blue colour cast and vignette for nostalgia, before slicing into a narrow crop, in order to pinpoint the direction of homeward bound…and illustrate the Simon & Garfunkel’s 1965 folk song, for Sonel’s photo-editing challenge: Song titles
blackfriars_homewardHomeward bound
I wish I was
Homeward bound
Home, where my thought’s escaping
Home, where my music’s playing
Home, where my love lies waiting
Silently for me
[describes Paul Simon’s longing to return home to his girlfriend in London. Guitar and harmonies fulfill the lyrics  – listen to it here]

Author:

one blog for playing with photography @ eljaygee and the other with a weakness for words @ Tell Tale Therapy

4 thoughts on “Smart Photoart: Homeward

  1. One of my favourite S&G songs! I love the photo too, it has a rugged industrial beauty. Plus I have always loved trains, they speak of being able to escape to some new place, of adventures, new experiences. Departure lounges, whether for trains or planes, are favourite places of mine.

  2. What a stunning shot Eljay. Great focus and love how you cropped it. The edits are just as gorgeous! Love Simon and Garfunkel and this is one of my favourite songs. Thanks for taking part and for sharing this beautiful post! 😀

Now have your say...

