Posted in Nature

Green in between

squirrel_grass
nuts about green but less keen on squirrels

When it comes to colour,  novice gardeners seem to cache like squirrels, collecting plants of every hue to stick in the ground. The seasoned plantsman however, considers green to be primary,  making it the backbone of  garden design.

We have a remarkable range of names to describe the admixture of blue and yellow tones that make up green: caesious, celadon, chartreuse, chrysochlorous, citrine, corbeau, eau-de-nil, glaucous, lovat, porraceous, prasinous, sage, smaragdine, teal, tilleul, turquoise, viridian, willow, zinnober. These hues are a self-sufficient  palette but whether as backdrop blend or canvas contrast, there is always a shade of foliage to tie warm or cold colours  into a planting scheme.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All this week I’m painting blog posts a different colour [#coloursabroad] and putting a Blogger in the Limelight: 

With thought-provoking images & poems from Scotland comes Seonaid’s  Breath of Green Air
– and since I’ve plagiarised this clever title from one of London’s green space tweeters, mention must be given to follow the Green in Between

Author:

one blog for playing with photography @ eljaygee and the other with a weakness for words @ Tell Tale Therapy

19 thoughts on “Green in between

  1. Love the squirrel. I remember them in Holland Park, where I often used to go when I lived just off Portobello Road. I also used to see lots of red squirrels in Oslo´s Ekeberg park near where Edvard Munch got his inspiration for ‘The Scream’ paintings and lithographs.

    1. cute, agile but grey squirrels can make gardeners scream with frustration with their burying, gnawing habits. The rare red ones would be welcome back – p.s. you’ve certainly travelled around

  2. I wish I could spend more time in my garden, but alas, kids come first. And, I guess, my writing does too! Regardless, I love all the colors of nature, even the color of squirrels. 😉

  3. Thanks for all the green words. Some of them have such lovely tones to them, one can’t help associating the color word with something wonderful. “Citrine” just makes me want to wander inside a lemon grove right this moment.

  4. I like squirrels – at a distance, preferably in somebody else’s garden! I have read that we have red squirrels on Anglesey, a colony re-introduced some years ago and now thriving. I must chase this up, I remember them from childhood, so sad that they are no longer a common sight. As for green, in all its many wonderful shades, where on earth would we be without it. Particularly in spring when it has that magical freshness to it.

Now have your say...

