Posted in Introspectives

Introspectives #2

Resisting the pursuit of the picturesque as well as the snap happy finger, I pause to ask myself: ‘why am I taking this shot?’

Spring blossoming in Tavistock SquareIt may seem as obvious as just another ornamental tree in Spring blossom. But in this one I resisted being sucked into all the pretty details and let it blend into the context of Tavistock Square’s monochrome, Georgian architecture

paraphenalia in Southwark Cathedral yard - monochromeLoaded with textures and light-hearted relief in this secular assembly of objects, necessary for the every day running of Southwark Cathedral.

rail span over southwark bridge roadLight and shade, breadth, depth and movement. The span of the rail bridge rivets the eye before the gaze wanders over the details, right down to the small, mirrored reflection. Split second timing here but alas the sky let me down.

great suffolk street, southwarkPollarded silhouettes are living architecture for the post-war social housing block but it was the blues, whites and warm tones of late afternoon sun on red brick, which caught my eye

spatial trio at Borough market - monochromeThis trio have occupied the frame at its extemes, in a near perfect triangular formation. The vacant central ground underlines the empty feeling of Borough side street after the market has closed.

 

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

13 thoughts on “Introspectives #2

      1. I noticed that I gained some knowledge of composition from my watercolours and pastels (composition was one of the main things that scared me when I took up painting). But now when I am taking a photo I am really looking at what is in the frame (usually 😉 ) looking to see what I really want to try to capture. And often I just put the camera down again and walk on. Too bad I didn’t learn that when we used film and had to pay to see our mistakes. 🙂

  1. nice photos Laura and a nice little tour around the less seen London, I like the contrast of which photos look better B&W, living here with the grey lewisian stone I sometimes miss the red brick that has been a part of most of my life, is the bridge Vauxhall? the last photo is a nice happenstance, clever you for snapping it, Frances

  2. my favorite: “This trio has occupied the frame at its extremes, in a near perfect triangular formation. The vacant central ground underlines the empty feeling of Borough side street after the market has closed.”

Now have your say...

