Posted in Live from London

London tree week #5

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE I’m ending this week’s celebration of London’s trees on a note of caution rather than triumph. It’s May and yet evidently the contractors were still out with the chainsaws, certified to butcher, but untrained in the when and how of tree surgery.

tree_surgery_londonFortunately most of our urban trees are amazingly resilient to these untimely ravages but just because they manage to refoliate before the summer, does not mean that overall there will not be a weakening of the energy required to resurrect themselves each time.
Exif_JPEG_PICTURETalking of which, I’m taking a break to have my own surgery – back when my back is recovered. I only hope I can muster some resilience for myself.

Links:
Pruning mature trees
Why Topping hurts trees

Author:

one blog for playing with photography @ eljaygee and the other with a weakness for words @ Tell Tale Therapy

5 thoughts on “London tree week #5

  1. Yes, how I hated to see the tree butchers come when I lived in London. There´s a lot goes on over here too, but usually well before the spring foliage begins.

    Take it easy for a while, working at a keyboard can be quite a strain on your back. I suffered tendonitis in my left shoulder for quite some time, due to stress, some years ago. I had to cut down my time on the computer considerably. I know it´s not the same, but our bodies need time to recover as do our minds.

Now have your say...

