Posted in Introspectives

Introspectives #6

Before and since visiting Brussels, my camera eye has been dull. I’ve been hoping for inspiration whilst half-heartedly tackling technicalities, with the result that nothing really ‘works’. But now I’ve signed up with a ‘get to know your DSLR in 6 weeks’ course and so the introspectives series I started a while back will make useful digestive posts, following each lesson.

Beginning with the camera dial set to P=’Program mode’. The aperture and shutter speed are pre-determined so all that is required is to select subjects and focus on framing the captures. I’m aware of trying too hard yet this week all I have to do is get out there and practice P for photography.

1-P1040869
The answer is not up there but in the fundamental premise that photography is the visual capture of light [f 6.3; 1/200]
1-P1040893
The bokeh effect works well with the satellite blooms of Japanese aralia but the viewer’s point of focus is somewhat vague [f5.2; 1/160]
1-P1040863
Impressed with the zoom of my Lumix and I love chimneys and cranes. Where are the clouds though when needed to add interest? [f 11; 1/800]
1-P1040892
As with the above shot, the reds and blues work well together but could do with a third factor ?more light versus shade=depth [f 8; 1/640]
1-P1040887
Staying with the reds, was quite pleased with the autumn leaf details. Have a bit of a tremor and the shutter speed fast enough to counter this [f5; 1/200]
1-P1040877
Trees and buildings are two sides of the architecture coin – I like the trio of colour and the light [f7.5; 1/320]

Links:
Panasonic Lumix G6 Manual: Program AE Mode & Program Shift: p96

Author:

one blog for playing with photography @ eljaygee and the other with a weakness for words @ Tell Tale Therapy

16 thoughts on “Introspectives #6

  1. Laura, there are some really interesting shots here. I especially like the Japanese plant, and the crane and chimney pots. I don’t need clouds. The first shot has its own intrigue. Keep going…

  2. I value your encouragement – thanks so much Tish. Groping in the dark to capture the light! Tend to fixate on the ‘third who walks always besides you’ but I suppose all I need is depth πŸ™‚

  3. Love the way the colour of the crane is echoed in the chimney pots. Hope you get your mojo back, but I’d be delighted to capture any of these shots, so perhaps just take photos without your inner critic shouting so loudly for a while?! When I lose my gardening mojo and am convinced that everything is rubbish I find getting down and doing some weeding can be the perfect way back to balance and perspective.

  4. I haven’t a clue about the different issue you raise here. I rarely use any settings other than ‘P’ on my camera. Sometimes I think I should try others to get different depths of field and things but rarely does this improve the picture I’m taking. When photos came out on film one had to be very careful that every shot was as near perfect as possible first time. Now I have a digital camera I tend to take several pictures of the same thing and sort out which looks best when I get home. To be able to do this is specially useful when taking pictures of plants and insects. They jiggle around so in the slightest breath of breeze.

    I like the subject matter and colours of your chimneys and crane picture.

Now have your say...

