Posted in Live from London

Fragile

For today’s #photo101 ‘Solitary’, we are encouraged to think about the rule of thirds to emphasise the isolation of the theme. Ideally this therefore should have been a more distant shot but it was necessary to be close-up as there were a number of passers-by surrounding the Paddington statue. I’m pleased with the straightness of the image as too often I have a lopsided lean and I like the way his hat counterbalances the cranes in the background.paddington_bear_thamesPaddington Bear is a Peruvian stowaway who made it to the eponymous station with a floppy hat, suitcase and polite note to the finder to ‘please look after this bear, thank-you’. I feel that the busy background highlights the tearfulness of feeling lost and isolated in London before finding friends and family

Note: This ‘Fragile’ bear is one of 50 different Paddingtons scattered around London to be auctioned to raise money for the NSPCC – see the Paddington Trail
Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

9 thoughts on “Fragile

  1. How cute! I love him. Well done, shooting something white isn’t always easy. And I’m off to check out the trail. I haven’t seen any of these, though I’ve been visiting some of the current bus trail.

  2. you made me smile, Laura,
    are you really born
    to adore the bears and
    that big bad bison?
    (and thunderstorms
    and that ear-biting man
    named Tyson?)

Comments are closed.