Posted in Introspectives

Introspectives #8

This week’s lesson is ‘Still Life’; a project requiring an understanding of DOF and ISO.

1. Depth of Field i.e. part of the image that the photographer wants to have in focus. For a shallower depth of field:-

  • larger apertures (smaller F-stop number)
  • closer focusing distances
  • magnification of focal length

2. ISO: sensitivity to light of the sensor. Higher ISO for dim light conditions but noise increases especially with long exposures

The following are not particularly photographic but purely experimentation with Aperture mode (camera sets shutter speed)Β and ISO, using tripod and window illumination:-

Every year I’m tempted to ditch the Schlumbergera cactus as it is an ugly dust-gatherer that really would prefer to be living “epiphytically, high up in the trees of rain forests and jungles. Here it thrives on the rotting vegetable waste that gathers in the clefts and crevices of branches, enjoying comfortable dappled shade and plenty of warmth and moisture“.1. When it bursts into Barbie flowers in November (it’s not a Christmas cactus – leaves are more pointed) I forgive it and so anther year of occupation passes.

These ‘real’ xerophytic cacti are in my care for now – even with tripod, there is a little camera shake blurring. To remedy, I could shoot with a 2 sec or more delay.

I might never have my name in lights as a photographer but its fun to try. Have a good weekend!
Notes:
1. How to grow: Schlumbergera

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

9 thoughts on “Introspectives #8

  1. Everytime I read these posts and say, ‘what fun’ I just need to get off the couch and give it more of a try…I will soon as I begin to move from auto to all sorts of experimentation…thanks for the inspiration as always Laura.

    1. have to write my lessons down else I forget so am glad others appreciate them too – Donna you have such gorgeous shots of your garden – give the camera a go with half a foot in the water – aperture or shutter speed mode and play πŸ™‚

  2. When I studied photgraphy, as part of a graphic design course in the 1960s, we used to use a shutter realease device that fixed into the camera (the name has slipped my mind for the moment) when taking photos at slower speeds.

    Anyway, that led me to do a quick bit of research, and I found this link for you, which should help you solve your camera shake problem.

    http://www.digitalcameraworld.com/2013/02/04/hands-free-photography-4-ways-to-take-pictures-without-touching-your-camera/

  3. Ah, Laura, now I see why you were asking me those questions on my blog πŸ˜‰ keep shooting those still life’s…. Oh, and for mine I usually set the camera on self timer, although I do now have a wired remote

Now have your say...

