Posted in photo challenges

WPC: Inspiration

giant_waterliliy_kew
Queen of the water lilies – 10 inch fragrant blooms, arising at night from underwater buds, as a white flower that turns deep pink

With one hot and humid intake of breath, the waterlily house at Kew transports the visitor to the tropics and the wonderland of alien Nymphaea.

First impressions are that the lily pond is filled to the brim with giant, thorned pads of Victoria amazonica and V. cruziana. But growing in amongst them are the mystical water lotus as well as a prismatic parade of aquatic lilies:

“Foxfire’ has purple outer petals and pink inner petals, and the pads are streaked and mottled with red; the bright blue N. ‘Kew’s Stowaway Blues’ is a Kew hybrid; N. ‘St Louis Gold’ has deep yellow star-like flowers with olive green pads…” Tropical Nursery, Kew


Nymphaea ‘St Louis Gold’
‘St Louis Gold’
Tropical Sunset
Tropic Sunset
Nymphaea 'Foxfire'
Foxfire
Nymphaea ‘Kew’s Stowaway Blues’
Kew’s Stowaway Blues
'Nelumbo Charles Thomas'
‘Nelumbo Charles Thomas’

Things of beauty take our breath away and as such are inspirational but imprinted on my mind is a photo taken by my brother-in-law when he visited Kew Gardens with us, some years ago. Though I may never match his mastery with the camera, I have tried to replicate his image here:-
Charles ThomasDedicated to Sherwood Burton who is my Inspiration for this week’s photo challenge.

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

14 thoughts on “WPC: Inspiration

  1. These shots are absolutely lovely. I think you are giving me a run for my money. I was about to say which is my favorite of these but it is impossible to select just one or even the four or five, I love them all. Did you use Raw on these? I am blessed with your presentation.

  2. If I had the right climate and a larger pond, I would have many of these beauties as I have dreamed of of a pond full of exotic water lilies….stunning images especially the largest lily pads….love those!

    1. your pond is sensational for the wildlife though Donna – those leaves are giant amazon waterlily not blooming when I went but here is a David Attenborough video of it well-worth watching

Comments are closed.