Posted in Introspectives

Introspectives #15

Some people think black and white photography is rather overdone these days – others regard it as the best of mediums. Evidently some subjects make it more or less suitable but I like it because handling colour well comes with experience. Being captivated by hues, it is easy to forget the principles of light and dark, resulting in flat, vibrant shots.

Now when I process the RAW files, I try them all out in monochrome first – that soon shows me how much or how little attention I’ve paid to lighting. Sometimes I go on to ‘develop’ the colours but here I’ve stuck with monochrome, adding more or less contrast to emphasise or not, the textures.

carpark_mono
Urban car park

At first, I thought perhaps this shot was too bare but on reflection the internal strip light gives just enough visual interest  whilst the large foreground emptiness creates contrast with the street parked cars. I like the triangular perspective of the solid pillars too.

wisteria walkway
wisteria walkway

mid day is hardly the best light but I’ve played up on the over-exposure and softened the contrasts to give gentleness to shade

palmhouse_kew_mono
banana leaves in the palm house

the Palmhouse at Kew has an abundance of tropical green with a density of planting which makes multiple patterns with the natural light. That is what I tried to capture here though I would have preferred more leaf definition

wingnut_tree_mono
under the spreading Wingnut tree

Pterocarya stenoptera is a grand name for a magnificent tree – with its twisted bark and pendulous seed catkins it makes a lovely subject for black and white

INTROSPECTIVES SERIES IS THINKING OUT LOUD AS I AIM TO IMPROVE AND LEARN MORE OF PHOTOGRAPHY. THE IMAGES ARE NOT ALWAYS FOR SHOW –  FEEDBACK WELCOME.

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

13 thoughts on “Introspectives #15

  1. Good idea to do monochrome first and see how you did with the light. I’m going to try that, because I sometimes have difficulties editing light & colour, and this seems like a good way to check the lighting.

        1. no quick fix solution to blogstipation Michelle – might just need a refresh (change theme) or a re-focus with a magazine style theme where you can tabulate different interests. Or just like the chrysalis give it a rest until emerging changed and refreshed

Now have your say...

