Posted in street photography projects

Street Photography project: the terminus

1-portrait_toddler2
I see only from one point, but in my existence I am looked at from all sides.” (Sartre: Being and Nothingness)

It’s no good – I ‘ve always felt uncomfortable with a camera pointed at me. Inherently shy or perhaps like the toddler above, it’s an existential dilemna of the other’s gaze

park_picnic_groupI can’t therefore with any alacrity turn the camera on others – pointedly or surreptitiously.

At best I can capture people by way of other happenings – as here in the Portrait Gallery. Looking to the left of this scene, a bolder photographer would have focused in close on the happenstance of the visitor’s legs morphing with bearded portrait – -click to enlarge:-

It takes a lot of shots and patience for people and background to come together as an unwritten commentary but could be something like thiswomenatwar_memorial
or may be thissepia_britishmuseum_visitors
I’m content to capture people in the anonymity of contextual props – after all both these scenes would have been even duller without the placement of action


Maybe I’ll eventually become less self-conscious at pointing my camera at people but until then am not going to be trying out street photography projects. Time will tell if that is the end or just a terminus.  1-portrait_toddler2-2
Some street photography posts I admire :

and still reading STREET PHOTOGRAPHY PROJECTs FROM DAVID GIBSON’S MANUAL

Author:

one blog for playing with photography @ eljaygee and the other with a weakness for words @ Tell Tale Therapy

17 thoughts on “Street Photography project: the terminus

  1. I actually prefer looking at the kind of street photography they way you present it in these pics, Laura. You take note of the people in the picture but they’re only part of the picture.
    I would love to try street photography but a) am not sure I have an eye for it and b) what with the legalities of taking people pics here in Germany it often seems like too much hassle.
    Maybe I’ll be daring when I visit the UK in December 😉

    1. would not know how to deal with a negative reaction or the legalities either Kiki and asking permission takes out the spontaneity that the street photograph personifies – we will see what we can get away with as a team in December

  2. I always have a feeling that I’m doing something wrong! I certainly wouldn’t use a long telephoto, as the idea seems well ‘pervy’ to me. And, I tend to respect a person’s privacy more than I feel I have a right to photograph them – the majority of people in my photos tend to be anonymous, there by happenstance or in large groups where an individual becomes insignifcant in the overall.

  3. a slew of photos of me as a kid had me half in and half out of the frame because i was trying to escape being photographed…generally i avoid taking photographs of people because i project my own angst about being photographed onto them, i suppose…some day i will try to overcome this, move out of my comfort zone, and try to capture the humans that are all around me…both of the woman with the WWII monument and the guy sitting in the art gallery are awesome, examples of why i shouldn’t totally avoid humans as subjects in my photos.

    1. in sympathy with you there- childhood photos always pulling faces at the camera with embarrassment. Maybe makes us more sensitive to and for others but we should not miss out on all the action either. Comfort zones can be deadly!

Now have your say...

