Posted in Second best Sundays

Second best #2

I still like something about this photo though it does not pass muster not least because it lacks much in the way of tonal contrast. As photographers we should ask ourselves why, and what at, are we shooting, and with hindsight I can only conclude that it was the textures and the tri-colour palette I liked. If only the pond had caught the colour of the sky, the image would then at least have been unified [click to view larger as it looks better when not compressed into the width of this page column]toad pond - Hengistbury Head, Dorset
But in terms of natural history it is a first best as this is one of the toad ponds of Hengistbury Head – a breeding place for the rare Natterjack.

[If you have a second best shot to show please add link in the comments]

Second Best Sundays – the photos that did not quite make top notch nor have made their way to the trash…yet

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

8 thoughts on “Second best #2

  1. I used to post only second best photographs with some faint idea that I might need the best ones ‘later’ – which means I lost track of the ones I liked most. This toad pond is a bit creepy and while it may not be a photograph one might hang on one’s wall, it certainly has atmosphere to it!

  2. I believe I think I know what you thought you saw when you took that picture [wow, what a convoluted start to a sentence that’s supposed to express something simple 🙂 ].
    Looking at this for a bit, to me the pond looks like a giant eye, so the reflection of the sky in it would have been awesome. Then again, there’s always PhotoShop, hahaha!

Now have your say...

